China lands Chang'e 6 sample-return probe on far side of the moon

Discuss events like time-travel, space travel, new technologies etc. here.
Site Admin
Level 5 Member
Level 5 Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2021 5:55 pm
2
Been Liked: 1 time
United States of America

China lands Chang'e 6 sample-return probe on far side of the moon

Post by staarker »

China has now landed two missions on the moon's mysterious far side.jpg
China has now landed two missions on the moon's mysterious far side.jpg (40.66 KiB) Viewed 325 times


China has landed on the moon's mysterious far side — again.

The robotic Chang'e 6 mission touched down inside Apollo Crater, within the giant South Pole-Aitken basin, at 6:23 a.m. Beijing Time on Sunday (June 2) , according to Chinese space officials. It was 6:23 p.m. EDT (2223 GMT) on June 1 at the time of the landing. The probe "successfully landed in the pre-selected area," China's space agency said.

The China National Space Administration (CNSA) now has two far-side landings under its belt — this one and Chang'e 4, which dropped a lander-rover combo onto the gray dirt in January 2019. No other country has done it once.

And Chang'e 6 will make further history for China, if all goes according to plan: The mission aims to scoop up samples and send them back to Earth, giving researchers their first-ever up-close looks at material from this part of the moon. https://www.space.com/china-change-6-la ... rn-mission


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests